Contact

Phone:

Email: laterent@hotmail.com

Web: www.hammondcast.com 

For My Friends In The Nakamichi Audiophile Group

#WATCHMOVIE HERE: For My Friends In The Nakamichi Audiophile Group Jon's archive https://archive.org/details/ForMyFriendsInTheNakamichiAudiophileGroup


by Jon Hammond



For my friends in the Nakamichi Audiophile Group:
I used good old Maxell Type II cassette tapes for this live recording date I personally recorded on my Nakamichi
550, which I am the original owner purchaser of - I plunked down $550
cash for my Nak at Harvey Electronics on W. 45th Street NYC in 1976 - I
made this recording with 3 Sennheiser
microphones placed around the bandstand in the Ellington Room - the
tune "No X-Cess Baggage Blues" I wrote for my friends at PIA Pakistan International Airlines - they very kindly let me take excess baggage on numerous flights I made with them out of John F. Kennedy International Airport - when you play Hammond Organ, it's impossible to travel light. I go way back with all of these fine musicians - that's Chuggy Carter on the percussion - Ray Grapponedrums - Joe Berger aka Joe Berger2 in the string section on his custom built JJ Guitars - tenor saxophonist Todd Anderson, Todd was my teacher for arranging and composition back in 1973 at the Berklee College of Music
in Beantown MA - Todd is also on my very first album 'Late Rent' one of
New York's finest - all these cats are veteran players and studio 
musicians, and I have been around the block a few times myself - yours' 
truly Jon Hammond at my 1959 Hammond B3 organ and covering the bass as well - through my custom built Bill Beer super high-power Leslie speaker with all JBL
speaker and horn components - enjoy! *Note: When I'm talking, the audio
is back to the vid tape - I just plugged an SM-58 in to a little Fender Amp Can battery powered amp - back to basics and analog, big thanks to Willy Hermann Services William Hermann Jr.

 got my intermittent left channel working! - Jon Hammond Band
- the "Blend Mic" '3rd channel' Nakamichi system gives a unique 3 
dimensional sound to live audio recordings - that's why even today the 
old Grateful Dead heads crave these machines - can't beat it - and you get real good at flipping cassettes! - JH


Times Square, New York City.



Here I am with one of my all-time heroes, the honorable Terence Hallinan



when I played Terence's birthday party a few years back in San 
Francisco CA at Rasselas Jazz Club & Restaurant on Fillmore Street 
when Terence was running for re-election as District Attorney of San 
Francisco, and he was a great DA! The who's who of San Francisco were 
there in his honor, including former SF Mayor Willie Brown, House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi,
Lisa Hallinan and all the Hallinan's,
 Mayor of New York David N. 
Dinkins, club owner Agonafer Shiferaw - and many more, it was a grand 
party...big honor to play for Terence and everybody there! - Jon Hammond
 — with Terence Hallinan 


Jon Hammond Funk Unit



Performance Info
Friday, January 26, 2018 - 2:00pm to 2:40pm
NAMM Show Pioneer DJ Arena Plaza Stage - Jon Hammond
believe in music award winner



- all star band, 40 minute outdoor concert - Anaheim Convention Center #NammShow



Nakamichi, Grateful Dead Heads, Tapers, Jon Hammond Band, NAMM Show, Nakamichi Audiophile, Cassettes, Type II, Funky Jazz, Blues, Hammond organ, B3, Leslie Speaker, JBL Speakers